why do we blog ?

I finally found the answer on coding horrors, taken from the About Me link:

Mostly for selfish reasons. I needed a way to keep track of software development over time– whatever I am thinking about or working on. I can research things I find interesting, document my research in public with a blog post, then easily find and refer to these blog posts later. Hopefully other people will find these posts helpful, relevant, or interesting. I firmly believe that blogs are a two way conversation, so I welcome email and comments– as long as they’re on topic, more or less.

It occurred to me when reading it, yes that’s right – writing down my thoughts, ideas or rants actually helps me structure all that mess, all that noise in my head.
It really helps after a busy day at work, you start writing a few lines. Not satisfied, you complete the post, provides more background etc.

When the post is finished, every piece of the puzzle has found its place.

When you come back 2 weeks later and say “oh yeah, right, that’s why I’ve done it that way” :-)

About this entry